Circular Baby Bibs

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Project: Circular Baby Bibs

My youngest nephew is approaching 9 months and is a drooling machine. Unfortunately, this means he goes through a crazy number of bibs per day and inevitably, requires a costume change to replace his drool-soaked onesie.

Babies are adorable, but gross.

My sister asked me to make some circular bibs with the idea that when one portion of the bib gets wet, you can rotate the bib to have a fresh dry patch available for immediate drool absorption. It sounded great in theory….but we really had no idea how well it would work. Design-wise, it seemed pretty straightforward so we decided to give them a try.

There are so many bib making tutorials online but none for these circular bibs we had in mind. My sister gave me my nephew’s measurements and the desired length of the bib so that I could make a custom cutting template. The original neck hole ended up being way to big for my hefty, but skinny necked nephew so I had to make some adjustments on my original template.
Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

To construct these, I cut out three pieces for each bib: a flannel piece for the back, a nylon piece for the middle, and either a flannel or cotton twill piece for the front. I ironed on a total of two 1″x1″ pellon interfacing squares on the flannel/cotton pieces where the snap was going to be inserted. With right sides of the two exterior pieces facing together, and the nylon on top, I sewed all around leaving a 2 inch hole to reverse the pieces, and topstitched the edges. Then I used a dritz snap fastener to attach the snaps.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Fabric wise, there are so many different types of fabric to choose from. Since this was a prototype, I opted to use flannel and cotton twill because they were relatively inexpensive as compared to other recommended fabric types, such as fleece, terry, chenille, microsuede, bamboo, PUL, etc. I wanted to add a waterproofing element, but was appalled that PUL fabric at Joann’s was $14.00/yd. Instead, I purchased some sport nylon fabric (with a 50% coupon) to use as a middle lining, to help prevent drool seepage onto clothes. This ended up being a totally affordable replacement option for waterproofing the bib.

Final thoughts on the bib, my sister was happy with the size, but I think I’d make it a little smaller. The flannel is definitely more absorbent but the selection of “fun” flannel prints is much more limited. I’d consider using a more luxurious fabric, like chenille, if these bibs are being worn in the winter, otherwise I think the flannel/quilting cottons are a better option for warmer weather. I think the jury is still out on whether these bibs are better than the standard shape for bibs. If you’re going for practicality, these are great because the kid can wear this bib for longer, but they are definitely not as “stylish” as a standard bib.

Leave a reply

